FPGA!

This is a quick post, more information will follow later. I’m entering the world of reconfigurable hardware šŸ˜€

Here’s an image of the FPGA board I’ve designed:

fpga

It has an xc3s200 spartan 3 FPGA. It’s not one of the newest nor one of the biggest FPGAs around, but you can synthesize a Microblaze 32bit CPU in it and still have room for other logic.

And there are more good news: Xilinx provides a version of their IDE for Linux, and I even managed to program the FPGA using my JTAG cable and urJTAG.Ā  Here’s an image of urJTAG correctly recognizing the two chips in the JTAG chain:

fpga_screenshot

Until now I’ve only written two simple VHDL programs, one that does an and gate, which is probably the equivalent of the “Hello world” for an FPGA, and one that divides the 50MHz clock on the board by 2^26, and uses the resulting ~1Hz frequency to blink a led. Both work as expected on the FPGA board.

So many interesting things to do, and so little time to do them… it’s 27 September and on 30 September I’ll have to go back to university… This year I had to write my thesis, and that resulted in no spare time during summer… šŸ˜¦

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “FPGA!”

  1. Andy Logic Says:

    Welcome to the world of FPGA’s

  2. Massimo Says:

    I , I’m Max.
    I’m developing my final project of electronic engeenering on the implementation of a LDPC decoder on a FPGA Xilinx Virtex-5 FX70T.
    I’ve already synthesized the VHDL code on the board and I got the slice occupation, in terms of number of LUTs, Flip Flops and DSPs. I’d wanna find the equivalence of the amount of slices in equivalent gates, but I can’t find anything on internet. It would be great to have the total amount of Virtex-5 gates and some conversion factors.

    Can someone help me?

    Thanks a lot,
    bye

  3. fedetft Says:

    Well, as I said I just started in the world of FPGAs, and currently I have no idea about how to answer your question. I guess your best bet is to register to the official xilinx forum and ask there.

Leave a Reply

